Sunday, May 26, 2024
15.5 C
St Kilda

Winners Announced for St Kilda Film Festival 2022


Mick Pacholli
Mick Pachollihttps://tagg.com.au
Mick created TAGG - The Alternative Gig Guide in 1979 with Helmut Katterl, the world's first real Street Magazine. He had been involved with his father's publishing business, Toorak Times and associated publications since 1972.  Mick was also involved in Melbourne's music scene for a number of years opening venues, discovering and managing bands and providing information and support for the industry.        

St Kilda Film Festival, Australia’s longest-running short film festival, has revealed the winners of Australia’s Top Short Film Competition for 2022. Presented by City of Port Phillip, St Kilda Film Festival ran from 27 May – 5 June and couldn’t wait to get back into major venues, such as the famous Astor Theatre in St Kilda.

The Festival Award winners for 2022 were announced on the final day of the festival, Sunday 5 June, and include:

Baltasar, directed by Brietta Hague and produced by Estela Rasal and Gala Gracia, was awarded the prestigious Best Short Film and took home the cash prize of $10,000, courtesy of City of Port Phillip. The film is a Spanish-Australian co-production about a Senegalese man’s diligent attempts to make ends meet in a new land. (pictured left).

Director Brietta Hague took home Best Director and Best Achievement in Screenplay for Baltasar.

The Craft Award was awarded to Freedom Swimmer, directed by Olivia Martin-McGuire and produced by Brooke Silcox and Ron Dyens, receiving a $2,000 cash prize sponsored by VicScreen.

Best Documentary went to Inferno, directed and produced by Samuel Rodwell, taking home $1,000. Samuel Rodwell took home Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production for Inferno.

The Better Angels, directed by Michael Cusack and produced by Richard Chataway, was awarded Best Animation, winning a one-on-one masterclass with one of JMC’s industry specialist lecturers.

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking was awarded to Bunker: The Last Fleet, directed and produced by Rowan Pullen and Stephen Potter. The award was sponsored by Post Lab, with a $1,000 cash prize.

You can see the full list of 2022 nominees and award-winners on the St Kilda Film Festival website

The St Kilda Film Festival’s industry professional judging panel consisted of Emma Bortignon, Johanna Kelly, and Pauline Clague. Bortignon stated: “It was an absolute pleasure to be a judge for the 2022 St Kilda Film Festival with fellow judges and legends Pauline Clauge and Joh Kelly. Listening, watching and experiencing the entries was thrilling, and we had loads of excellent discussions while drilling down to the winners”.

“On behalf of the judges who viewed all the films for this year’s event, it’s my enormous pleasure to congratulate the nominees and winners of this year’s festival” said St Kilda Festival Director, Richard Sowada. “We congratulate all the filmmakers across the entire festival and the hundreds who entered. It takes a lot of heart and passion to put your ideas into the public arena, and we acknowledge the trust they put in us to look after their hard work.”

SKFF is supported by major government partners Screen Australia and VicScreen.

Now in its 39th year St Kilda Film Festival (SKFF) returned to the big screen across Friday 27 May – Sunday 5 June 2022. SKFF is Australia’s longest-running short film festival, recognising the genre of short film, including music videos, gaming and immersive forms, celebrating some of Australia’s best local short filmmakers and screen artists.

@stkildafilmfest and #stkildafilmfestival



Full list of award winners:

  1. Best Original Score
    Supported by House of Marley


  • Joseph Franklin (Mourning Country)
  • Madeleine Cocolas (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
  • Sean Timms (The Better Angels)
  • Jackson Mico Milas (Giants)

Winner: Jackson Mico Milas (Giants)

  1. Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production
    Supported by Music & Effects and the Australian Screen Sound Guild


  • Jennifer Leonforte (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
  • Anonymous (Freedom Swimmer)
  • Doron Kipen & Jennifer Aldred (Nest)
  • Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)

Winner: Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)

  1. Best Achievement in Editing
    Supported by Roar Digital and Adobe


  • Raymond Evans (Mars)
  • Ryan de Rooy (There’s Someone Here)
  • Veronica Buhagiar (Farmers)
  • Stig Wemyss (Hatchback)

Winner: Raymond Evans (Mars)

  1. Best Achievement in Screenplay
    Supported by the Australian Writers’ Guild and Cinema Nova


  • Brietta Hague (Baltasar)
  • Joel Kohn (The Mirror)
  • Tony Radevski (Risen)
  • Madeleine Gottlieb (You and Me Before and After)

Winner: Brietta Hague (Baltasar)

  1. Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking
    Supported by Post Lab IO


  • Bunker: The Last Fleet
  • Shiny One
  • Tooly
  • Finding Jedda

Winner: Bunker: The Last Fleet

  1. Best Achievement in Cinematography
    Supported by the Australian Cinematographers Society and Blackmagic Design


  • Robby Piantanida (Miss Underwater)
  • Kieran Fowler (Giants)
  • Samuel Rodwell (Inferno)
  • Ellery Ryan ACS (Amissa Anima)

Winner: Kieran Fowler (Giants)

  1. Best Young Actor
    Supported by Profile Creative


  • Riley Stiles (Amissa Anima)
  • Maya Robinson (Alba)
  • Winta McGrath (Risen)
  • Ingrid Torelli (The Mirror)

Winner: Ingrid Torelli (The Mirror)

  1. Best Actor
    Supported by Chameleon Casting


  • Scott Johnson (Alba)
  • Ras Samuel Welda’abzgi (BLVCK GOLD)
  • Ling Cooper Tang (The Moths Will Eat Them Up)
  • Yael Stone and Emily Barclay (You and Me Before and After)

Winner: Yael Stone and Emily Barclay (You and Me Before and After)

  1. Best Animation
    Supported by JMC Academy


  • Bleue’s Breath
  • The Better Angels
  • Freedom Swimmer
  • Forgotten

Winner: The Better Angels

  1. Best Documentary
    Supported by Shaun Miller Lawyers


  • Betty and Bushy
  • Acts for the Invisible
  • Freedom Swimmer
  • Inferno

Winner: Inferno

  1. Best Director
    Supported by the Australian Directors’


  • Tony Radevski (Risen)
  • Brietta Hague (Baltasar)
  • Eddy Bell (Giants)
  • Raymond J Evans (Mars)

Winner: Brietta Hague (Baltasar)

  1. Craft Award
    Supported by VicScreen


  • Freedom Swimmer
  • Bleue’s Breath
  • Bunker: The Last Fleet
  • Miss Underwater

Winner: Freedom Swimmer

  1. Best Short Film Award
    Supported by City of Port Phillip


  • Baltasar
  • The Better Angels
  • The Mirror
  • Mars
  • Freedom Swimmer

Winner: Baltasar

  1. Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film
    Supported by City of Port Phillip


  • Blue Belt
  • Before We’re Gone (RUNNER UP)
  • Reflexions
  • Various shades of off-white

Winner: Blue Belt (director Liam Harrington)


- Advertisement -

More articles

Arts News